Joining Shapes in Indesign

Seeing as I am completely self taught when it comes to InDesign I find myself googling anything I cannot work out for myself so I thought I would share with you something I learnt this week, it’s a very quick and easy tutorial.

I wanted to combine two shapes into one and add a drop shadow but you’ll see when going through the tutorial that if you try to add a drop shadow to both shapes without merging them then you’ll get a very wrong looking effect.

1. I started by creating a rectangle and a polygon shape using the rectangle and polygon tools.

Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 08.34.22

2. Next step was to place the polygon shape at the end of the rectangle shape, now I have the shape I was hoping to achieve.Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 08.34.37

3. Now for the drop shadow, if I were to add a shadow to both shapes now, it would look like this, not good huh?!

Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 08.35.35

4. To turn your two shapes into one, they need to be merged together. Highlight your shapes and go to Window > Object & Layout > Pathfinder. I chose the first option: combine selected objects into one shape but you can play around with the other options to achieve your desired result.

Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 08.37.16

5. Now you can add the drop shadow to your finished shape by right clicking on the shape and choosing Effects > Drop Shadow, make your selections and hit ok….voila! Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 08.49.15

2 responses to “Joining Shapes in Indesign

  1. Pingback: Favourite Things #34 | Lau's Rambling Corner·

  2. Pingback: Creating Single Chevrons in Indesign & Using the Pathfinder Tool Part 2 | House of Clicks·

Leave a Reply

