Memory Frame

I’m a bit of a hoarder when it comes to tickets from days out, hotel key cards, maps…you get the drift! So I thought rather than place them into a memory box, away from all to see, I should put them on display, after all, if they sit away in a drawer somewhere there isn’t much point in me keeping them. After a quick inspiration hunt on Pinterest, I decided to go for the frame option but to add my own twist, I would add a word decal to the glass to describe what was inside.

You will need: a frame (as small or large as you like), decal paper, acrylic spray, scissors, water, soft cloth, a hairdryer, a printer,  image to transfer (I made mine in Photoshop) and all your memory goodies!

1. I started by creating the text in Photoshop and sent to print onto the glossy side of the decal paper. It’s important to remember to mirror the image when printing. Allow to dry.

Text

2. Lightly spray with acrylic spray and either allow to dry or use a hairdryer from a distance for a minute or so.

_DSC6030

3. Cut around the image/text leaving a bit space, as my image was text, I cut a box shape to create a nice even finish.

4. Immerse the decal in a shallow bowl of water for 30-60 seconds, image side up.

_DSC6035

5. Position the decal onto the glass part of the frame, smooth it down with your fingers and a slightly damp cloth.

_DSC6039

6. Slide off the backing paper and manipulate the decal into position, using a slightly damp cloth smooth it until it’s bubble free.

_DSC6045

7. To set the decal, blow dry with a hairdryer for 5-10 minutes or leave to dry. (if adding a decal to something like jars, you can place these into an oven for 8 minutes at 150c)

8. Finally, the fun part, add all your tickets etc to the inside of the frame using blu-tac to hold in place.

_DSC6059

As you can see, this is just a small one, I’m only able to fit a few things in here so I’m planning on making an A3 size one when we eventually move into a house but shhhh don’t tell Ben 😉

One response to “Memory Frame

  1. Pingback: A Pinterest Promise from me to you. | fisdailyponderings·

Leave a Reply

